Pensieve

I am not a harry potter fanboy, but I did enjoy the serious, and read most of books, watched most of the movies .etc. I sorta grew out of it over time, since I was okay with having a friend spoil the ending for me. But, out of all of the fantasy novels, and mystical substances/devices/magic I’ve encountered in fiction, the Pensieve is one of the most amazing tools I’ve come across.

So beautifully simple, yet dastardly impossible to reproduce in real life. Yes dastardly is not the best adjective for that sentence, I know.

Dumbledore extracts a thought out of his head, which takes a wispy, almost electric, form and guides it with his wand into a jar. This jar is the pensieve, and it can hold on to his thought, or whatever memory he wishes to get out of his head, and he can retrieve it at a later time.

Imagine you are going on a trip with your best-friends in the world, and it just so happens that your loved one breaks up with you. Wouldn’t it be great if you could just take those feelings out, and just enjoy the trip. Deal with the unhappiness later? Well this sounds a bit too unhumanly, almost like it allows you to be emotionless. But really its not emotionless, its not numbing ALL of your feelings. Just the bad ones. But Janac, you gotta DEAL with your problems, not just hide them in a jar. That’s how you grow and learn. Sure, that’s all good and necessary, BUT it would be nice to be able to take on problems one at a time. And not have it ruin a trip you’ve been planning for months.

As an engineering student, there is always the obvious use for this pensieve. Super-productivity. If I can remove all thoughts about anything not-school related, I would be a distractionless innovator. I could spend time on things I really care about. But don’t I care about my distractions too? When I get distracted by a beautiful song, its because I’m so immersed in its beauty. Like Alan Hovhaness’ Vishnu Symphony was playing in my head the whole time I was writing this article.

Dayum. I’m such an adolescent! I don’t know shit about life yet lol. The good news is, I’m not bothered by this. I’m just happy that I can fully understand what Socrates means when he says “All I know is that I know nothing”.

Anyway, the reason why I started this is because I want to have a series of Pensieve Posts, and use my blog as my thought holding medium. Writing things down really does help me not get distracted. Its just a bit time consuming, but its definitely worth it. I remember in highschool I had to write a 500 word essay, and I stressed and mulled over it for weeks. I’m at 473 words atm, and this was a breeze. I like seeing my improvements. My communication skills have improved, my ability to think on higher levels, and see through the bullshit has sky rocketed over the years. Decision making, maturity, stress-management, and even though I complain about it a lot, even my productivity has gone up. I’ve gained weight, which sounds bad but really I’ve been a skinny stick all these years and now I’m finally a thick looking dude. Yea I’m gonna work out and make it a nice deezed body.

Leave a Reply

