Should I Keep Drinking Coffee?

The aroma fills my chest with a happy feeling. The mug warms my cold hands as I raise it up to my lips. Carefully drinking the first sip, the taste is comfortingly sweet, but bold with flavour. After drinking half of the elixir made from arabica beans, I feeling the power begin surging through my body. By the end, I feel prepared for any challenges that come my way.

Shit, just based on the way I’m describing coffee, you can see that its a big deal to me. I can live without it, sometimes I just drink tea instead. Why am I even considering the removal of a daily activity I look forward to? Because the thought of having even more energy is alluring. Everyone that stops drinking coffee claims to have more energy than ever before after a few weeks of being sober.

The Facts:

  • After you get used to coffee it doesn’t dehydrate you as much as it does when you’re a noob.
  • Paper filters remove bad oils, whereas french presses and metal filters don’t
  • Reduces risk of…Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, heart disease, diabetes mellitus type 2, cirrhosis of the liver” (wikipedia)
  • “Those who drank four or more cups a day, are more likely to suffer occasional headaches”
  • The positive effects of consumption are greater in those who drink decaffeinated coffee.
  • Coffee is no longer thought to be a risk factor for coronary heart disease
  •  It may aggravate pre-existing conditions such as gastroesophageal reflux disease, migraines, arrhythmias, and cause sleep disturbances
  • Very high doses of caffeine may cause problems for some conditions such as anxiety disorders.

Whoa, the wikipedia article was surprisingly more positive than I expected.

Other Coffee Facts

  • Started in Ethiopia
  • Two types
    • Arabia is luxurious, tastes better, and is harder to grow
    • Robusta (canephora) is the stronger, cheaper, easier to grow
  • Brazil makes the most
  • Behind petroleum, coffee is the most traded product in the world (7 million tonnes a year)

After reading that last line, my “fuck-corporate-interests” mode turned on and made me suspicious as to whether coffee companies could have paid good money to edit wikipedia articles in their favor. Nah, it would be too hard to advertise that kind of a job. “Professional bullshitter wanted”. I gotta accept that not everything is ruled by corporate interests. Its cool to think about though.

Anyway, after reading up on coffee, I have no desire to give it up anymore. The only thing I learned, was something I already know. Too much of anything is a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

